All About Audience

For this week’s readings, it was all about how to make your audience happy enough to influence the spreading of your content. Pam Moore tells us that we have to be human and interact with them on a personal level so it doesn’t feel like we are just a mouthpiece trying to sell something. We want our audiences to feel like we understand them and gain their trust so they will share our content without having to beg or incentivize them. The well-known mantra “the customer is always right” certainly applies here. Where I think many companies go wrong with their social media content is that it’s all about their brand or their latest promotion and they don’t take the time to engage with the audience and make them feel important. What companies do you think do or don’t do a good job engaging with their audience? Just because a company might not make a sale one day doesn’t mean they can’t obtain a dedicated audience that will help their business thrive for a long time to come. It’s about winning the war, not just the battle. Guy Kawasaki emphasized finding the right image and putting the right content on your social media channel to engage the audience the right way. People can only see so many flyers for sales or promotions of new products. If a company shares a video from another company or something that might be unrelated to what they are selling at the time, it creates a persona that they are human. This creates more interest when they post about a promotion because fans of the page are not sick of hearing about it. You can share other people’s content, just make sure that you give them credit and not pass it off as your own. What kind of content do you see from your favorite pages that is unrelated to current promotions? When I was the social media manager for Persona Magazine, I had a difficult time knowing when to post and when not to post. I felt that if I was sending out a tweet or Facebook status when there was nothing relevant to report I would annoy our followers. Now I realize that posting frequently or about off topic content is necessary to maintain a presence and a sense of trust between you and followers. Mari Smith‘s article is where I lost faith in what I was reading. As a journalist, this article may have given me some decent tips on creating pieces for a magazine or newspaper. But, for someone who calls herself a “Social Media Leader” and “Facebook Marketing Expert,” she didn’t really gear this advice to posting content on Facebook. In my opinion, if a company is posting content that is as long or longer than this blog post, they are doing something seriously wrong. If you need to have meetings or spend time editing the content that is to be posted on your social media channel, people are not going to take the time and read what you have to say. Going back to what Pam Moore had to say, focus on the audience to push your content through to a larger audience using simple, eye-catching content and you will hopefully find success in marketing your new or already established business.

5 thoughts on “All About Audience

  1. I love how Pottery Barn reaches out to customers talking about them (positively or negatively) on social media. They’ve tweeted me after I said something about my duvet from their store, and that got me to look more closely at their tweets. I don’t know if they’re responding to every single mention, but they’ve got to be coming close – which is awesome.

    I do like seeing the occasional post from a brand that promotes someone or something else. That keeps things social, like they’re supposed to be on social media, rather than using it as just a platform to pimp their own stuff. A fun video from one of their followers or another brand that they work with or a coupon for another brand that their followers might also like says to their followers that they care first and foremost about the followers, not just their own company.

    • Julie, I will have to check out Pottery Barn on social media. I find it interesting, especially with our status question assignment on Facebook, that most people really dislike straight advertising on social media. It actually dissuades someone from buying from that brand if they only see advertising.

  2. I like following a lot of online clothing stores and I find that they do an amazing job at getting people to interact and to visit their website. I don’t think their clothes just sell themselves, the social media managers seem to put a lot of effort in their strategy. They try to reply to every comment and always have contests. Even when I have no money in my bank account, their social media posts make visit their website.

    My job, UFHealth, sometimes posts unrelated to their wall to get some interaction. They will ask their fans what they are cooking tonight, or what they are going to do on the weekend. This is has nothing to do with health, but it humanizes the brand.

    • Maria, UFHealth could probably spin those questions in a way that is related to their brand, like suggesting healthy meals or things to do that are good for their bodies. I like those types of posts, ones tha aren’t overtly advertising the brand, but still giving valuable advice related to the brand.

  3. I love companies that are always showing me something new and interesting rather then just trying to sell a product. John talked about this same thing in last weeks guest lecture. I like when people aren’t just selling themselves they’re selling a new idea. Pinterest does great about driving me to new things I wouldn’t look at before, by compiling things and tweeting about them.

Leave a Reply

