The Oft-Forgotten Ugly Ducklings of Social Media

When people think social media, the first things that come to mind are Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and now Instagram. Most of the time, the channels that are neglected in conversation can be the most powerful. Youtube, Pinterest and Vine not only have the fastest growing audiences of all social channels, but they can also be some of the most useful for your marketing strategy.

Technorati claims that most people would be more inclined to buy a product that they saw in a Youtube video than something they saw on Facebook. I can relate to this sentiment because I am a visual person. Even though I am a writer, I respond better when I am being shown something rather than being told. A Facebook post or ad can only do so much to persuade the consumer. If they see the product in action on Youtube, it would convince them that the product works the way it is supposed to, therefore persuading them to invest the money in said product.

And for those more visually-inclined people, implementing Youtube into their social media marketing strategy can only be beneficial. Fast Company says that posting videos of your product on Youtube will increase visibility because Youtube is essentially a search engine. If a consumer is looking for a related product, there is a greater chance that the consumer will take notice of your product from the “related videos” section. Fast Company also says that Youtube is the #2 search engine on the internet, behind Google. The smart marketing strategy involved there is that Google owns Youtube, therefore creating an unstoppable powerhouse in the search engine market. Youtube is also one of the few and most popular search engine apps on iPhone and Android devices. I like being able to access videos right from my home screen on my phone and being able to bypass a few steps to receive the content I want.

One thing I agree with of Search Engine Journal‘s analysis of Pinterest is that users are spending more time on it, 89 minutes per week, than Twitter, Google+ and LinkedIn combined. Once I get on Pinterest and Yotube, I won’t stop for a considerable amount of time. Mostly for me it’s just watching funny bloopers of my favorite television shows or looking at pictures of food I will never be able to make. But if I can spend that much time viewing things that are somewhat meaningless to me, imagine what I could do if I paid attention to things that relate to my career.

Vine had one of the fastest growing audiences in the shortest amount of time. Some of the statistics of Vine I find to be very interesting and some I question their validity. I have no doubt that the Boston Marathon bombing brought on thousands of Vine videos. But considering that Vine is an app created by Twitter, I find it strange that most Vine videos are viewed between 10-11am, where as most people log in to Twitter at around 5pm. And I also take issue with the math used to determine the number of Vines compared to the Lord of the Rings trilogy. If the trilogy, which is just over 9 hours long, were looped 2,500 times that would result in over 18,000 hours, which is about 9 times more than the over 2,300 hours needed to watch all of the videos on Vine. I also find it hard to grasp the significance of statistics in that infographic, when the most important one to me and to marketers should be the rapid growth in audience.

Do you use Youtube and Pinterest for more than just viewing videos or pictures? How might it fit into your social media marketing plan?

Do you see a significant marketing impact coming from Vine or is it a passing fad?

2 thoughts on “The Oft-Forgotten Ugly Ducklings of Social Media

  1. I use Pinterest frequently. But YouTube is new to me. And Vine seems pointless. While I don’t share original content on YouTube (yet), I can at least share runway videos of my brands, behind the scenes photo shoots, interviews with industry leaders, etc. What can you really say in the little time allotted on Vine? Is it just for celebrities? Or my 14 yr old cousin?

    • My friend, who I posed the same question to about Vine, said it’s difficult, but probably not impossible to market something in the time alotted. But she also said only those that could figure it out and use it properly should use it. Others shouldn’t waste their time.

Leave a Reply

