Introduction

Hi everyone, my name is Steven Schiraldi. You can call me the Social Roller if you’d like. I’ve gone by numerous nicknames because of my disability in the past, so I’ll assign one to myself and embrace it. I am 24 years old and graduated from the University of Arizona in May 2013 with a Bachelor of Arts in Journalism. I wasted almost no time jumping into this Master’s of Social Media program in order to gain necessary skills to support and promote myself as a freelance journalist if necessary (or at least that’s how it started out). I love everything about the entertainment industry with a particular passion for music. I love most genres but I’d be lying if I didn’t admit that I love country music. I am hoping to one day be able to use my current and future skills in journalism and social media to become a well-known music critic, either on my own or through other publications.

I currently live in Tucson, Arizona with my parents and we will most likely be making a move to Nevada this summer, just outside of Las Vegas. I grew up in Mahopac, New York, which is about an hour north of New York City, and lived there until I was 18 and became a freshman at UA. I have a dog Dacota, a black lab/German Shepherd mix and you can see her as the cover photo on my Facebook profile. My hobbies include watching television, interacting on social media and going to karaoke at least once a year. The other bit of information I alluded to earlier was my disability. I have Spina Bifida and have been in a wheelchair my entire life. I have not had an easy medical history to give you the understatement of the decade. Even though I call myself the Social Roller on this blog, I am not defined by my disability by any stretch of the imagination.

Now that I’ve divulged some of my personal attributes I will tell you what I currently am doing professionally. I have been working as a social media manager and personal assistant for Justin Klosky, the founder of O.C.D. Experience since December 2013. Many of my classmates are aware of Justin and his company because some of us did our final projects for Introduction to Multimedia Communication creating a social media plan for his book. He hired me and our professor Jaclyn Rhoads shortly after we completed our projects. I’m having a great time with the company and trying to juggle two jobs with school is always a fun challenge! If you haven’t connected with me on social media already, all of my channels should be linked on the right. I look forward to another great semester!

Leave a Reply

